Find my plan →

Compare plans · Facts checked October 2026

Compare home warranty companies, contract by contract

We read each provider's sample contract and plan pages, then line up the terms that decide what gets paid: caps, service fees, exclusions, and cancellation.

7 providers verified 10 contract terms compared Every fact dated & sourced How we compare →

Showing all 7 providers, listed alphabetically.

  1. 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty logo
    Aging HVAC & plumbing

    2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

    • Heating & cooling cap: $5,000 per system
    • Appliance cap: up to $2,000 per appliance (top tier)
    • Overall limit: $50,000 per term
    • Service fee: You choose

    Watch for: Code, permit, and modification costs are excluded unless state law requires coverage.

    Varies by area (no state list published)

    Facts checked
    October 23, 2026

    Visit site → Read review
  2. American Home Shield logo
    Choose your service fee

    American Home Shield

    • Heating & cooling cap: $5,000 per system
    • Appliance cap: up to $4,000 per appliance (top tier)
    • Overall limit: $50,000 per term
    • Service fee: $100 or $125 (you choose)

    Watch for: Code, permit, and modification costs are excluded except a $250 allowance on ShieldPlatinum.

    Varies by area (no state list published)

    Facts checked
    October 23, 2026

    Visit site → Read review
  3. Choice Home Warranty logo
    Systems + kitchen appliances

    Choice Home Warranty

    • Heating & cooling cap: $3,000 per system
    • Appliance cap: up to $3,000 per appliance (top tier)
    • Service fee: $100 per claim (FAQ; may vary)

    Watch for: Air conditioning is only in the Total Plan, and unknown pre-existing conditions are excluded.

    All states except WA

    Facts checked
    October 23, 2026

    Visit site → Read review
  4. First American Home Warranty logo
    High appliance caps on Premium

    First American Home Warranty

    • Appliance cap: up to $7,000 per appliance (top tier)
    • No overall (aggregate) limit in the sample contract

    Watch for: Direct (non-real-estate) buyers don't get unknown pre-existing coverage, and code/permit coverage is an add-on.

    Varies by area (no state list published)

    Facts checked
    October 23, 2026

    Visit site → Read review
  5. Home Service Club logo
    Broad item list, low caps

    Home Service Club

    • Heating & cooling cap: $2,000 per system
    • Appliance cap: up to $2,000 per appliance (top tier)
    • Overall limit: $9,000 per term
    • Service fee: Choice of deductible levels

    Watch for: Heating and AC share one $2,000 yearly limit, and canceling after claims can mean paying back service costs.

    Varies by area (no state list published)

    Facts checked
    October 23, 2026

    Visit site → Read review
  6. Home Warranty of America logo
    Simple two-plan lineup

    Home Warranty of America

    • Heating & cooling cap: $5,000 per system
    • Appliance cap: up to $5,000 per appliance (top tier)
    • Overall limit: $15,000 per term

    Watch for: A $15,000 total cap per term, and AC isn't in the base Premier plan.

    Varies by area (no state list published)

    Facts checked
    October 23, 2026

    Visit site → Read review
  7. Old Republic Home Protection logo
    Aging HVAC & plumbing

    Old Republic Home Protection

    • Heating & cooling cap: $6,500 per system
    • Appliance cap: up to $7,000 per appliance (top tier)
    • No overall (aggregate) limit in the sample contract
    • Service fee: Per trade; you select the amount

    Watch for: The Trade Call Fee is charged per trade and is due even if a claim is denied.

    Varies by area (no state list published)

    Facts checked
    October 23, 2026

    Visit site → Read review

At a glance: who each plan may suit

The fine print, side by side

Compare: Showing 4 of 7. Pick up to 4.
Home warranty companies compared
Checked Oct 23, 2026 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty American Home Shield Choice Home Warranty First American Home Warranty
Plans 2 plans (best of those shown) Systems, Pinnacle 3 plans (best of those shown) ShieldSilver, ShieldGold, ShieldPlatinum 2 plans (best of those shown) Basic Plan, Total Plan 3 plans (best of those shown) Starter Plan, Essential Plan, Premium Plan
Heating & cooling cap $5,000 (best of those shown) per system $5,000 (best of those shown) per system $3,000 (best of those shown) per system Not stated (best of those shown)
Best appliance cap $2,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier $4,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier $3,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier $7,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier
Overall limit $50,000 (best of those shown) per term $50,000 (best of those shown) per term Not stated (best of those shown) No limit (best of those shown)
Service fee You choose (best of those shown) $100 or $125 (best of those shown) $100 per claim (best of those shown) Set in your plan (best of those shown) Not published
Code & permit upgrades Excluded (best of those shown) Not covered Limited (best of those shown) Platinum only, up to $250 Excluded (best of those shown) Code corrections and permits excluded Limited (best of those shown) Optional Advantage add-on: $500 (Essential), $1,500 (Premium)
Unknown pre-existing issues Limited (best of those shown) Only if not reasonably detectable Limited (best of those shown) Excluded only if known or reasonably detectable Excluded (best of those shown) Known or unknown pre-existing excluded Excluded (best of those shown) Covered only for real estate transaction customers
Cancellation Anytime (best of those shown) Yes, prorated refund Anytime (best of those shown) Yes; pro-rata refund, admin fee after 30 days Anytime (best of those shown) Yes; admin fee may apply after 30 days Restricted (best of those shown) Full refund within 30 days if no claims; after a claim, non-cancelable
Waiting period 30 days (best of those shown) 30 days (best of those shown) 30 days (best of those shown) Not stated (best of those shown)
Availability Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published All states (best of those shown) except WA Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published
Sample contract Read it (best of those shown) Read it (best of those shown) Read it (best of those shown) Read it (best of those shown)
Links Review Review Review Review

Covered Limited Excluded Best Most favorable term among the providers shown From each provider's sample contract and plan pages. Not a quote; terms can vary by state.

Closer look at each provider

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Aging HVAC & plumbing

Our assessment: A clearly documented plan agreement with a systems-only option and a combination option. Per-item caps are stated plainly ($5,000 for heating and cooling, $2,000 per appliance), and you choose your service fee. Code, permit, and modification costs are excluded except where state law requires them, which matters most in older homes.

May suit

  • Homeowners who mainly want heating, cooling, plumbing, and electrical covered (Systems plan)
  • Buyers who want to trade a higher service fee for a lower plan price, or the reverse
  • Anyone who wants to read a detailed sample contract before buying

Consider first

  • Older homes likely to need code or permit work during repairs, which is excluded
  • Homes with high-end appliances where a $2,000 per-appliance cap may not cover replacement
  • Hydronic, steam, or geothermal systems, which have a lower $1,500 cap
  • Permits, code corrections, and modifications aren't covered unless state law requires them.
Full 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty review →

American Home Shield

Choose your service fee

Our assessment: AHS offers a systems-only tier and two combination tiers with a $5,000 per-system HVAC cap and a $50,000 aggregate limit in the sample agreement. The main differences between tiers are appliance caps and whether code-upgrade and roof leak allowances are included.

May suit

  • Homeowners who want to choose between a $100 and $125 service fee
  • Homes where systems matter more than appliances (ShieldSilver)
  • Buyers who want a contract that excludes only pre-existing problems that were known or reasonably detectable

Consider first

  • Older homes likely to need code or permit work during a repair, unless on ShieldPlatinum (and even then only $250)
  • Owners of high-end appliances who need more than $2,000–$4,000 per appliance
  • ShieldGold's $2,000 per-appliance cap is half of ShieldPlatinum's.
  • Refrigerant is limited on Silver and Gold per the plan page; unlimited on Platinum.
Full American Home Shield review →

Choice Home Warranty

Systems + kitchen appliances

Our assessment: Choice offers two tiers under a sample agreement that caps each covered item at $3,000 per 12-month period. The contract excludes both known and unknown pre-existing conditions and code-related work, which matters more in older homes.

May suit

  • Homeowners whose main concern is kitchen appliances plus heating and plumbing (Basic)
  • Buyers who want AC, laundry, and refrigerator in one tier (Total)

Consider first

  • Washington homeowners (not currently served)
  • Older homes where code or permit work is likely during repairs
  • Homes with systems whose history is unknown, since unknown pre-existing conditions are excluded
  • Expensive HVAC replacements that could exceed a $3,000 per-item cap
Full Choice Home Warranty review →

First American Home Warranty

High appliance caps on Premium

Our assessment: First American's Colorado sample contract covers lack of maintenance, rust and corrosion, states no general aggregate cap, and raises appliance limits to $7,000 each on Premium. Code and permit costs need the optional Advantage add-on, and unknown pre-existing defects are covered only in real estate transactions.

May suit

  • Homes with higher-value appliances (Premium's $7,000 per-appliance limit)
  • Owners who can't document past maintenance, since the contract covers failures due to lack of maintenance
  • Buyers in a real estate transaction, who get unknown-defect coverage

Consider first

  • Direct homeowner buyers worried about unknown pre-existing problems
  • Anyone who wants to cancel mid-term after making a claim
  • Homes that need AC covered on the lowest tier (Starter excludes it)
  • AC is a stand-alone option on Starter.
Full First American Home Warranty review →

Home Service Club

Broad item list, low caps

Our assessment: HSC's sample contract covers a long list of systems and appliances and doesn't require maintenance records, but its limits are low: $2,000 per claim, heating and AC combined at $2,000 a year, and $6,000 or $9,000 total per year. Code upgrades are excluded, and canceling after claims can leave you owing service costs.

May suit

  • Newer homes where repairs are likely to be small
  • Owners who want a broad list of covered items, including pest control and gas leaks on Comprehensive

Consider first

  • Older homes where an HVAC replacement is plausible ($2,000 combined heat/AC limit)
  • Homeowners who may want to cancel after using the plan
  • Heating and AC share one $2,000 yearly limit.
  • Per-claim limit of $2,000.
Full Home Service Club review →

Home Warranty of America

Simple two-plan lineup

Our assessment: HWA's 2022 sample contract caps payouts at $5,000 per item and $15,000 per term, starts coverage after 30 days, and lets you cancel any time for a pro rata refund. Code and permit costs are covered only through the OrangePlus add-on, and pre-existing conditions are excluded.

May suit

  • Homeowners who want month-to-month flexibility to cancel
  • Homes where a $5,000 per-item cap covers likely repairs

Consider first

  • Homes likely to need several large repairs in one year ($15,000 aggregate cap)
  • Older homes where code upgrades are likely, unless OrangePlus is added
  • Homes needing AC coverage on the base plan
  • Refrigerant is paid at $10/lb, with you covering the rest.
Full Home Warranty of America review →

Old Republic Home Protection

Aging HVAC & plumbing

Our assessment: Old Republic's 01/2026 sample contract sets $6,500 per-system heating and AC caps with no aggregate limit, and Deluxe and Elite include $500 and $1,000 allowances for code violations and permits, which can matter in older homes. In the default terms, the contract can't be cancelled at will.

May suit

  • Older homes where code or permit work is likely during HVAC or plumbing repairs (Deluxe or Elite)
  • Homes with polybutylene plumbing, since pipe leaks including polybutylene are listed as covered
  • Owners of higher-value appliances (Elite, $7,000 per appliance)

Consider first

  • Anyone who wants to be able to cancel at any time; default terms are non-cancelable except listed reasons
  • Homes needing AC coverage on the Basic tier without paying for the option
  • A separate Trade Call Fee applies for each trade dispatched, and it's due whether service is covered or denied.
  • Cancellation, where allowed, deducts service costs and a $50 processing fee in default terms; some states have different terms.
Full Old Republic Home Protection review →

How we compare

We score contracts, not marketing. Each criterion uses only facts from the provider's own sample contract and plan pages. Anything a provider doesn't publish scores at the low end, so missing information never helps.

Full methodology →

CriterionPointsHow it's scored
Heating & cooling cap2$6,000+ = 2 · $5,000+ = 1.5 · $3,000+ = 1 · lower or unpublished = 0.5
Appliance cap (best tier)1.5$5,000+ = 1.5 · $3,500+ = 1.25 · $2,000+ = 1 · lower or unpublished = 0.5
Overall (aggregate) limit1No aggregate limit = 1 · $50,000+ = 0.75 · lower = 0.5 · unpublished = 0.25
Code & permit upgrades1.5Covered = 1.5 · limited allowance = 1 · excluded or unpublished = 0
Unknown pre-existing issues1.5Covered = 1.5 · covered unless known/detectable = 1 · excluded or unpublished = 0
Cancellation terms1Cancel anytime = 1 · restricted = 0.5 · non-cancelable or unpublished = 0
Service fee choice0.5You can choose your service fee = 0.5 · fixed or unpublished = 0
Public sample contract1Full sample contract published = 1 · not published = 0

Buying guide: what to know first

Common questions

How do I compare home warranty companies?

Compare contract terms, not headline prices: what each plan covers by name, the per-item and overall caps, the service fee and when it applies, exclusions such as code upgrades and pre-existing conditions, and cancellation terms. Read the sample contract for your state.

Which home warranty company is best?

It depends on your home. Older homes benefit most from high heating and cooling caps, code-upgrade allowances, and coverage for unknown pre-existing issues. Homes with newer systems but older appliances may do better with appliance-focused coverage.

Why do your numbers differ from a quote?

We show what each provider publishes in its plan pages and sample contract, with the date we checked. Your price and terms depend on your address, home, and the plan options you choose.

Are home warranties available in every state?

Not always. Some providers exclude certain states, and others say availability varies by ZIP code without publishing a list. Check your state guide and confirm with the provider.

Is a home warranty the same as homeowners insurance?

No. Insurance generally covers sudden damage such as fire or storms; a home warranty is a service contract for covered systems and appliances that fail from normal wear.

How do you make money?

Some providers may pay us a commission when you buy through our links. It never changes the facts we publish or how we evaluate contracts.

Not sure which fits? Match plans to your home.