Home warranty plans, prices, and contract terms can differ by state, and some providers don't sell in every state. This page collects what we've verified for North Dakota. Where we haven't verified something yet, we say so.
Plans available in North Dakota
Choice Home Warranty publishes that it serves North Dakota. 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty, American Home Shield, First American Home Warranty, Home Service Club, Home Warranty of America, Old Republic Home Protection don't publish a state list and say availability varies by area, so confirm by ZIP code. Plan terms below come from each provider's sample contract, which can differ by state.
| Checked Oct 23, 2026 | 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty | American Home Shield | Choice Home Warranty | First American Home Warranty | Home Service Club | Home Warranty of America | Old Republic Home Protection |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plans | 2 plans (best of those shown) Systems, Pinnacle | 3 plans (best of those shown) ShieldSilver, ShieldGold, ShieldPlatinum | 2 plans (best of those shown) Basic Plan, Total Plan | 3 plans (best of those shown) Starter Plan, Essential Plan, Premium Plan | 2 plans (best of those shown) Standard Coverage, Comprehensive Coverage | 2 plans (best of those shown) Premier Plan, Premier Plus Plan | 3 plans (best of those shown) Basic, Deluxe, Elite |
| Heating & cooling cap | $5,000 (best of those shown) per system | $5,000 (best of those shown) per system | $3,000 (best of those shown) per system | Not stated (best of those shown) | $2,000 (best of those shown) per system | $5,000 (best of those shown) per system | $6,500 (best of those shown) per system |
| Best appliance cap | $2,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $4,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $3,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $7,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $2,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $5,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $7,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier |
| Overall limit | $50,000 (best of those shown) per term | $50,000 (best of those shown) per term | Not stated (best of those shown) | No limit (best of those shown) | $9,000 (best of those shown) per term | $15,000 (best of those shown) per term | No limit (best of those shown) |
| Service fee | You choose (best of those shown) | $100 or $125 (best of those shown) | $100 per claim (best of those shown) | Set in your plan (best of those shown) Not published | Choice of deductible levels (best of those shown) | Set in your plan (best of those shown) Not published | Per trade; you select the amount (best of those shown) |
| Code & permit upgrades | Excluded (best of those shown) Not covered | Limited (best of those shown) Platinum only, up to $250 | Excluded (best of those shown) Code corrections and permits excluded | Limited (best of those shown) Optional Advantage add-on: $500 (Essential), $1,500 (Premium) | Excluded (best of those shown) Code modifications and permits excluded | Limited (best of those shown) Only with OrangePlus add-on: code $250, permits $250 | Limited (best of those shown) Deluxe $500, Elite $1,000; not on Basic |
| Unknown pre-existing issues | Limited (best of those shown) Only if not reasonably detectable | Limited (best of those shown) Excluded only if known or reasonably detectable | Excluded (best of those shown) Known or unknown pre-existing excluded | Excluded (best of those shown) Covered only for real estate transaction customers | Excluded (best of those shown) Conditions existing before the effective date excluded (homeowner plans) | Excluded (best of those shown) Pre-existing conditions excluded | Excluded (best of those shown) Malfunctions before the effective date excluded |
| Cancellation | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes, prorated refund | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes; pro-rata refund, admin fee after 30 days | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes; admin fee may apply after 30 days | Restricted (best of those shown) Full refund within 30 days if no claims; after a claim, non-cancelable | Restricted (best of those shown) Pro rata refund, but you may owe service costs above fees paid | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes; pro rata refund less service costs and a small admin fee | Non-cancelable (best of those shown) Non-cancelable except listed reasons (state rules vary) |
| Waiting period | 30 days (best of those shown) | 30 days (best of those shown) | 30 days (best of those shown) | Not stated (best of those shown) | Not stated (best of those shown) | 30 days (best of those shown) | Not stated (best of those shown) |
| Availability | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | All states (best of those shown) except WA | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published |
| Sample contract | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) |
| Links | Review | Review | Review | Review | Review | Review | Review |
Covered Limited Excluded Best Most favorable term among the providers shown From each provider's sample contract and plan pages. Not a quote; terms can vary by state.
What to check before buying in North Dakota
- Availability. Not every provider sells in every state, and plans or prices can differ by ZIP code.
- The state version of the contract. Many providers publish state-specific sample contracts. Make sure the one you read matches North Dakota.
- Who regulates the contract. Oversight of home warranties (also called home service contracts) varies by state. Your state insurance department or attorney general's consumer office can tell you how they're regulated.
- Caps, fees, and exclusions. These matter more than the monthly price. See limits and caps and exclusions.
This page is general education, not legal, financial, or insurance advice. Home warranty terms vary by provider, plan, and state; the contract you sign controls what is covered. Spotted an error? Request a correction.