Utah requires home warranty companies to register with the Utah Insurance Department as home protection service contract providers, and contracts sold in the state carry specific required notices. Cold winters and hard water affect what Utah homeowners should check.
Plans available in Utah
Choice Home Warranty publishes that it serves Utah. 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty, American Home Shield, First American Home Warranty, Home Service Club, Home Warranty of America, Old Republic Home Protection don't publish a state list and say availability varies by area, so confirm by ZIP code. Plan terms below come from each provider's sample contract, which can differ by state.
| Checked Oct 23, 2026 | 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty | American Home Shield | Choice Home Warranty | First American Home Warranty | Home Service Club | Home Warranty of America | Old Republic Home Protection |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plans | 2 plans (best of those shown) Systems, Pinnacle | 3 plans (best of those shown) ShieldSilver, ShieldGold, ShieldPlatinum | 2 plans (best of those shown) Basic Plan, Total Plan | 3 plans (best of those shown) Starter Plan, Essential Plan, Premium Plan | 2 plans (best of those shown) Standard Coverage, Comprehensive Coverage | 2 plans (best of those shown) Premier Plan, Premier Plus Plan | 3 plans (best of those shown) Basic, Deluxe, Elite |
| Heating & cooling cap | $5,000 (best of those shown) per system | $5,000 (best of those shown) per system | $3,000 (best of those shown) per system | Not stated (best of those shown) | $2,000 (best of those shown) per system | $5,000 (best of those shown) per system | $6,500 (best of those shown) per system |
| Best appliance cap | $2,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $4,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $3,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $7,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $2,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $5,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $7,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier |
| Overall limit | $50,000 (best of those shown) per term | $50,000 (best of those shown) per term | Not stated (best of those shown) | No limit (best of those shown) | $9,000 (best of those shown) per term | $15,000 (best of those shown) per term | No limit (best of those shown) |
| Service fee | You choose (best of those shown) | $100 or $125 (best of those shown) | $100 per claim (best of those shown) | Set in your plan (best of those shown) Not published | Choice of deductible levels (best of those shown) | Set in your plan (best of those shown) Not published | Per trade; you select the amount (best of those shown) |
| Code & permit upgrades | Excluded (best of those shown) Not covered | Limited (best of those shown) Platinum only, up to $250 | Excluded (best of those shown) Code corrections and permits excluded | Limited (best of those shown) Optional Advantage add-on: $500 (Essential), $1,500 (Premium) | Excluded (best of those shown) Code modifications and permits excluded | Limited (best of those shown) Only with OrangePlus add-on: code $250, permits $250 | Limited (best of those shown) Deluxe $500, Elite $1,000; not on Basic |
| Unknown pre-existing issues | Limited (best of those shown) Only if not reasonably detectable | Limited (best of those shown) Excluded only if known or reasonably detectable | Excluded (best of those shown) Known or unknown pre-existing excluded | Excluded (best of those shown) Covered only for real estate transaction customers | Excluded (best of those shown) Conditions existing before the effective date excluded (homeowner plans) | Excluded (best of those shown) Pre-existing conditions excluded | Excluded (best of those shown) Malfunctions before the effective date excluded |
| Cancellation | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes, prorated refund | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes; pro-rata refund, admin fee after 30 days | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes; admin fee may apply after 30 days | Restricted (best of those shown) Full refund within 30 days if no claims; after a claim, non-cancelable | Restricted (best of those shown) Pro rata refund, but you may owe service costs above fees paid | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes; pro rata refund less service costs and a small admin fee | Non-cancelable (best of those shown) Non-cancelable except listed reasons (state rules vary) |
| Waiting period | 30 days (best of those shown) | 30 days (best of those shown) | 30 days (best of those shown) | Not stated (best of those shown) | Not stated (best of those shown) | 30 days (best of those shown) | Not stated (best of those shown) |
| Availability | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | All states (best of those shown) except WA | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published |
| Sample contract | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) |
| Links | Review | Review | Review | Review | Review | Review | Review |
Covered Limited Excluded Best Most favorable term among the providers shown From each provider's sample contract and plan pages. Not a quote; terms can vary by state.
Who oversees home warranties in Utah
Home warranty service contract providers must register with the Utah Insurance Department before offering contracts, and must file contract forms before using them. Utah contracts are required to state that they're subject to limited regulation by the Department and to point you to the Department for complaints. Utah Insurance Department
How to check a Utah home warranty company
Ask whether the company is registered with the Utah Insurance Department, and confirm with the Department if you're unsure. Utah requires registered providers to file their contract forms in advance.
Look for the required Utah notices in the contract itself. They explain that the contract is subject to limited regulation by the Utah Insurance Department, that complaints can go to the Department, and that coverage isn't backed by Utah's Property and Casualty Guaranty Association.
Utah winters, hard water, and coverage
Cold winters put heating systems under heavy load and can freeze exposed pipes. Check the furnace and boiler coverage and caps, and whether the plan excludes damage from frozen pipes.
Hard water is common in Utah and can wear on water heaters and appliances. Check exclusions for sediment and mineral buildup.
What to check in the Utah version of a contract
Many providers publish a separate sample contract for each state. Before you buy, make sure the contract you read is the Utah version, then check:
- The covered-items list and any per-item or annual caps for the systems you care about most.
- The service fee, and whether it is charged per visit, per trade, or on denied claims.
- Exclusions for pre-existing conditions, maintenance, and code or permit upgrades.
- Cancellation and renewal terms, including how any refund is calculated.
- Any state-specific notices printed in the contract. These often explain who regulates the contract in Utah and where to complain.
Utah home warranty FAQs
Who regulates home warranties in Utah?
The Utah Insurance Department registers home protection service contract providers and oversees their contract forms.
Is a Utah home warranty backed by a state guaranty fund?
No. Utah contracts must disclose that coverage isn't guaranteed by the Property and Casualty Guaranty Association.
What should Utah homeowners check first?
Heating coverage and caps, frozen-pipe exclusions, and water heater terms.
Sources
- Utah Insurance Department: Provider applications (home warranty service contract providers)
- Utah Code Title 31A, Chapter 6a: Service Contracts
- USGS Water Science School: Hardness of water
This page is general education, not legal, financial, or insurance advice. Home warranty terms vary by provider, plan, and state; the contract you sign controls what is covered. Spotted an error? Request a correction.